World News /

Russia to Restrict Visas for People From 'Unfriendly Countries' — Including the US and UK

Russian foreign minister Sergei Lavrov has announced that the nation will be restricting visas for entry of citizens from “unfriendly countries” including the US and UK.

Lavrov announced the measure while speaking to the United Russia party in Moscow on Monday.

“A draft presidential decree is being developed on retaliatory visa measures in response to the ‘unfriendly’ actions of a number of foreign states,” Lavrov said during his televised remarks.

“This act will introduce a number of restrictions on entry into Russia,” Lavrov continued.

“I believe that this step will expand the tools to influence various categories of foreign citizens. First of all, against those who are involved in crimes against Russian citizens abroad,” Lavrov said. “Second, those who unjustly commit legal persecution against our people. And finally, those who make unreasonable decisions that violate the legitimate rights and interests of citizens and organizations of the Russian Federation.”

Lavrov asserted that the US and its allies have “directly” declared “a total hybrid war.”

“The West does not hide the purpose of this confrontation, to destroy the Russian economy, undermine domestic political stability and, ultimately, significantly weaken Russia, push us to the sidelines of international life,” Lavrov continued.

Russia’s list of “unfriendly countries” include the United States, Australia, Canada, Britain, New Zealand, Japan, South Korea, all EU member states and several others, according to the Moscow Times.

The Moscow Times noted that “Russian carriers have been banned from the airspace of the European Union, the United Kingdom and the United States and travel to and from Russia is now limited.”

*For corrections please email [email protected]*