On Tuesday, Oklahoma lawmakers gave final approval to a bill that makes performing an abortion illegal in the state, making exceptions only in the case of medical emergencies.
Senate Bill 612 makes performing an abortion or attempting to perform the procedure a felony punishable by a maximum fine of $100,000 or a maximum of ten years in state prison.
The legislation, which was first passed the state Senate last year, was passed Tuesday by the state House 70-14 without debate or questions on the floor.
The bill now goes to Governor Kevin Stitt, who has already pledged to sign every bill limiting abortion that’s presented to him.
I promised Oklahomans I would sign every piece of pro-life legislation that came across my desk.
It's an honor to be the most pro-life governor in the country and I will always step up to protect the lives of unborn children.https://t.co/YeliDpmtHt
— Governor Kevin Stitt (@GovStitt) September 10, 2021
Another recent piece of legislation, House Bill 4327, bars medical providers in the state from offering any form of abortion services, with the only exception being life-saving measures for the mother.
Similar to the abortion laws passed in Texas, residents of the state would be able to sue doctors who perform abortions. Additionally, the measure allows the state’s residents to file civil suits up to $10,000 against anyone who might assist in an abortion.
The next step in the process will be a vote by Oklahoma’s state Senate. If HB 4327 is approved in the Senate, it will become one of the most strict abortion laws in the United States.
The Oklahoma Senate has already passed other restrictive measures on abortion. The state Senate’s Health and Human Services Committee passed Senate Bill 1553, which bans abortion if more than 30 days have passed since the beginning of a patient’s last menstrual period. The bill allows an exception in cases necessary to protect the life or health of the mother.
Oklahoma has joined Texas and Idaho in passing controversial laws that allow private citizens to sue anyone who performs, aids, or abets an abortion in the circumstances outlined in legislation. Both Texas and Idaho laws prohibit abortions after six weeks of pregnancy.